8605 Merrillville Road, Merrillville, INDIANA 46410.
About Us.
Pooja Services.
Contact Us.
MON - FRI : 8:30 AM - 12 NOON
                      5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
SAT - SUN :  8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
                      5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
 About Us

 Looking Back: Our History    
Indian American Cultural Center of Northwest Indiana (IACC) took a key step towards centers “A dream becoming a reality”. The moment they planned to buy the land they felt ambiance at the site that “This site is meant to be a place for us to preserve, nourish and advance our Indian culture, heritage, religious values and social values.” The center acquired 14 acres of land on March 1999. On an auspicious day May 6th 2000 we performed Bhoomi Pooja and broke ground for construction to begin. This was a great day as we broke ground and began a process of building a living congregation through the contributions of this community. We hoped that through the years the grandchildren and their children will come here to learn the richness of the past. For so many of us who have toiled arm in arm for countless hours over almost two decades to realize our dream of building a cultural center in our area, this day marks dawn of the new era. We performed Vastu pooja on October 2001, and opened the center on March 9th 2002. Despite facing multiple challenges at the construction site, and under leadership of few community members the center was successfully completed.

We marked a key milestone as we turned the page in the next chapter of expansion. We planned for expansion of the existing building and a shrine, which ended up into another vision of courage to give the community a priceless legacy in the form of a truly magnificent Temple. June 9th 2009 we broke ground to build our Temple and the expansion of our existing building.

We named our Temple as Bharatiya Temple of NWI. This was a historic landmark time for the Indian Community of Northwest Indiana, as we celebrated the Grand opening of our Temple – Bharatiya Temple of NWI. Maha Kumbhabhishekam celebrations of the Temple on June 18th – 20th & Jain Prathistha Mahotsav on July 17th 2010. This was first Temple of its kind in the great State of Indiana. We, as a community are grateful to the Lord for bestowing upon us this wonderful opportunity to build this Temple for HIM. We are proud of being part of this great legacy, which will be passed on to generations to come.

"Even the impossible becomes possible when we focus the mental energy on the blue print" Swami Chidanandaswami
 Trustee Board 2022-2023 Term    
  • Mrs. Anjali Joshi, Chairman
  • Dr. Panna Barai, Vice-Chairman
  • Dr. Ravi Bhagwat, Past-Chairman
  • Dr. Harish Shah, Secretary
  • Dr. Hemendra Parikh, Treasurer
  • Dr. Ramakrishnan Unni, Trustee Board Member
  • Dr. Mohan Kesani, Trustee Board Member
  • Dr. Krishnakant Raiker, Trustee Board Member
  • Dr. Shailesh Bhatt, Trustee Board Member
  • Mr. Pratish Patel, Trustee Board Member
  • Mrs. Amitha Garlapati, Trustee Board Member
  • Dr. Harsh Dalal, Trustee Board Member
 Executive Board 2022-2023 Term    
  • Mr. Arun Balakrishnan, President
  • Dr. Sudhish Chandra, President-Elect
  • Dr. Vijai Kumar Dharla, Past-President
  • Mr. Gopal Govindasamy, Secretary
  • Dr. Rajaraman Iyer, Board Member
  • Mr. Love Kalra, Hall/Facilities Chair
  • Mrs. Prasanna Lalam, Board Member
  • Dr. Vivek Mishra, Ex- Officio Board Member / IMA President
  • Mr. Parimal Parikh, Board Member
  • Mr. Sharad Patel, Board Member
  • Mrs. Shakuntala K Sarma, Temple/Devalaya Chair
  • Mr. Anil Kumar Veligandla, Board Member
  • Mr. Subramanian Viswanathan, Treasurer